Posted 30 Nov 2010, 3:28 p.m.

Hey guys, I'm new to bandsoc so I figured I'd start with a question:

I've been learning drums for several weeks now and I figure it's time to get a kit of my own (especially since it's christmas soon). I already have an Ion Drum Rocker Rock Band controller which can be converted into a fulyl functional electric drumkit with the purchase of a couple of accessories (bass drum, midi brain etc.).

The other option of course is to bug parents for a proper acoustic drumkit for christmas.

Given that I intend to continue learning to play and join a band at some point what do you guys think?

Posted 30 Nov 2010, 3:59 p.m.

I am a guitarist, so do not know a great deal to do with drums. However... If I were you I would go for the acoustic kit. Surely its best (especially where you a beginner) to get the feel of an acoustic kit well, and then perhaps get an electric kit to practice with in halls (poor drummers at uni) when you are a little more experienced??

There are some very experienced drummers on here who will help you more! Fin? Jamie? Jim?

Oh welcome to Bandsoc as well!

Posted 30 Nov 2010, 4:24 p.m.

agaeki: Hey guys, I'm new to bandsoc so I figured I'd start with a question:

I've been learning drums for several weeks now and I figure it's time to get a kit of my own (especially since it's christmas soon). I already have an Ion Drum Rocker Rock Band controller which can be converted into a fulyl functional electric drumkit with the purchase of a couple of accessories (bass drum, midi brain etc.).

The other option of course is to bug parents for a proper acoustic drumkit for christmas.

Given that I intend to continue learning to play and join a band at some point what do you guys think?

It depends on what you want really.